Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education Minutes

August 29, 2022

The Beaver Dam Unified School District Board of Education held a special meeting on the above date at the Educational Service Center. The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by President, Chad Prieve. Board members present: Isaac Dornfeld, Marge Jorgensen, John Kraus, Jr., Mary Kuntz, Maria Mason (arrived at 5:31 pm), Lisa Panzer, Chad Prieve, Gary Spielman, and Joanne Tyjeski. Board members absent: None.

Kraus moved, Spielman seconded, the board recess into closed session per Wis. Stat. §19.85 (1)(c) considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility, specifically to discuss specific employees and employee groups.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Jorgensen, Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, and Dornfeld. No-None.

During closed session, there was discussion regarding specific employees and employee groups. No action was taken during closed session.

Spielman moved, Jorgensen seconded, to reconvene into open session.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Jorgensen moved, Spielman seconded, that the Board of Education implement the district's total base wage offer that was offered to Beaver Dam Education Association on March 29, 2022, pertaining to the terms of the 2022-2023 Collective Bargaining Agreement.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kraus, Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, and Jorgensen, No-Dornfeld.

Kraus moved, Jorgensen seconded, that the Board of Education increase administrative compensation for qualified administrators by 3.5% for 2022-2023.

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Kuntz, Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, and Kraus. No-None.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following resignations: Brody Jossart-Math Teacher-Middle School (Rescinded acceptance); Olivia Putz-Math Teacher-Middle School (Resignation effective 8/17/22); Travis Heiman-Physical Education Teacher-Lincoln Elementary School (Resignation effective 8/22/22).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following leave of absence requests: Mary Klawitter-Principal-Jefferson Elementary School (Medical Leave 11/23/22-1/2/23) and Mark Lefeber-Music Teacher-High School (Family Leave 11/28/22-12/23/22).

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote.

Panzer moved, Jorgensen seconded, to approve the following appointments: Dan Hallman-Physical Education Teacher-Lincoln Elementary School (LTE .32-58 days); Rachel Holland-Grade 3 Teacher-Lincoln Elementary School (LTE 11/3/22–1/9/23); Aimee Lamb-Special Education Teacher-High School (FTE .90); Amy Maier-Early Childhood Teacher-Wilson Elementary School; Deb Rasner-English Language Arts Teacher-Middle School; Mary Jo Stampfl-Math Teacher-Middle School; Tim White-Physical Education Teacher-Lincoln Elementary School (LTE .22-41 days); and Riley Zempel-Math Teacher-Middle School (Start date 1/16/23).

The motion was adopted by the following vote: Aye – Mason, Panzer, Prieve, Spielman, Tyjeski, Dornfeld, Jorgensen, Kraus, and Kuntz. No-None.

Kraus moved, Tyjeski seconded, to adjourn the meeting.

The motion was adopted by unanimous vote and the meeting was adjourned at 7:08 p.m.

/s/	
Chad Prieve, President	
/s/	
Marge Jorgensen, Clerk	